Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    scrolljoe Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 8, 2006, 03:01 PM
    An Email Question
    I'm a Newbie and am puzzled by this thought : I create an Email Account- say [email protected]... I received an Email which I opened. Is that opened Email now part of my Harddisk or is it stored in some mailbox in a server at Yahoo ? :confused: Thanks for any input.
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Jul 8, 2006, 04:53 PM
    It stored in some mailbox in a server at Yahoo

That is, if you go to mail.yahoo.com to look at your mail.

There is an option to download your Yahoo Mail from their server to your own computer hard drive. Example, if you use a program like Microsoft Outlook.
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Jul 8, 2006, 07:16 PM
    Ads?

What adds in Yahoo?

I guess since I have a pop up blocker I never notice.

GMail... I wouldn't recommend that. I signed up for an account, every day I got 100+ emails in spam, and this is BEFORE I started giving out the address to my friends or using it in ANY way.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jul 8, 2006, 07:27 PM
    I have both Yahoo and Gmail. I do see ads on Yahoo, but they are not intrusive, nor do they seem to have an appreciable affect on performance.

Both Gmail and Yahoo have effective spam filters. I get very little spam on Gmail since I don't give that address out a lot.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Jul 9, 2006, 05:27 AM
    Hi, scroll,
    You have a good answer, previous to this one.
    Your Yahoo email address stores your email in their server, not in your computer.
    One suggestion I have: