Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rvlec Posts: 68, Reputation: 2

Dec 10, 2008, 07:45 PM
    Compression test for 1989 ford f-150
    I have a 1989 Ford F-150 pickup with about 350K miles. It needs valve cover gaskets, plugs, wires, muffler and other 'odd and ends'. Can I tell, from a compression check of the enging, whether it is worth spending the money on repairs? How hard is it to replace valve cover gaskets? I am an amateur.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Dec 11, 2008, 07:33 AM

Yes, it will give you a pretty good idea of the engine's condition--good, basic, fundamental data on the valves and rings. Replacing valve cover gaskets are easy to do. Most of the time will be spent cleaning sealing surfaces.
    ShadyLady Posts: 98, Reputation: 10

Dec 13, 2008, 01:11 AM

Compression should be fairly even on all cylinders. One that is really off indicates a bad cylinder. $$$
    If you changed the oil regularly it would help prolong the life of your engine.
    Valve cover gaskets are a few bolts and easy to get to--right on top of the engine. You have to make sure the surfaces are scraped clean before you put the new gaskets on, and use a little "perma-tex" when you put them on.
    If you can get it in your area, try something called "Power Punch" Use 1/2 a quart at oil change (replacing the same amount of oil). It's great stuf, especially for an older engine.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

1989 Ford 1-50 problems [ 2 Answers ]

I can drive my truck for three days or so and then it will start running rough like it isn't getting gas or getting flooded. It will die if I give it too much gas. It will not start till I let it set about 30 minutes. Then it will run about three days or so and then do it again. The only...