Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    harsh1430 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 6, 2006, 09:24 AM
    Taxes for married filing OPT(self), F1(wife)
    Hello,

I am a resident of India, I have been in the US from Aug 2004. My wife has been in the US since Aug 2005. I just finished my Masters and am working full time in OPT status. My wife is still in F1 status. Should my employer cut Social Security and Medicare taxes? We wanted to file in Married status. Please help!

Thanks,
    Harsh
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jul 6, 2006, 03:27 PM
    Harsh:

Since you are still F-1 status (presumed because you are on an OPT), you should file as a non-resident alien (Form 1040NR).

Since you are Indian, you can claim your wife as a dependent AND claim the $5,000 standard deduction for 2005. You should also file Form 4483 with the tax return.

Talk to your employer about being exempt from Social Security and Medicare taxes. Ask that he stop withholding the Social Security and Medicare taxes. If he refuses, get the refusal in writing, as you will need it when you request a refund of the Social Security and Medicare taxes. You should Form 483 to make that claim for refund.

Contact me at [email protected] if you need help with this process.

You should File F

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

I am married to a women But am still In love with my Ex wife [ 13 Answers ]

I need this question answered. I have been divorced for about 4 years now. We haven't talked since we separated. Well I recently got married and my ex wife got married 7 months ago. Well I had to contact her cause of an issue about a car that we owned. Since we divorced I lived in Kansas and her in...

NYC Taxes married filing [ 3 Answers ]