Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    anbolic_dragon Posts: 14, Reputation: 2

Nov 28, 2008, 12:35 PM
    Unable to decide on career
    Hi, I graduated high school not knowing what to do with my life.. my mother pressured me into going to college so I just decided on choosing crinimal justice. I got sick of school and only went for 2 years and got my associates degree. After that I still didn't know what to do so I got a job as a contractors assistant with a guy I know. Ive been doing that for that past 3 and a half years. I don't get steady days or hours wityh him but its OK money for the time being. I know I have to find something else to do with my life but I have no idea. A few things interest me but I would have to go back to school for them and they also don't have good money in there fields. I want a good job that doesn't involve going back to school for 4 years. I have thought about state police with ym degree but I would be shipped away from home and away from my mother and I don't want that right now. I know it can be a good career but for now its not what I want.. maybe the future but not now.Any suggestions would be great. Thanks
    ZoeMarie Posts: 2,049, Reputation: 468
    Ultra Member

Nov 28, 2008, 02:39 PM

If it's of any consolation, I know people in their 40s that still don't know what they want to be when they "grow up." I think sometimes people get a job thinking it will just get them by until they decide what they want to do and they end up staying there longer than they had planned. That was the case when I was working at Menards. A lot of people there started there with the mind set that they can work there while going to school. That's what I did and it was a few years later that I finally found a job that I was interested in after I got my degree. Sometimes it takes time to decide what you want to do. If I were you I would take a few different classes at a community college just to see what interests you. You'll figure it out.