Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tatiana2878 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2006, 11:14 AM
    Depo shot & missed periods
    I was on depo for over a year. I had my last shot in October 2005 & never returned for another because after going to the dr. for tonsillitis he informed that the depo shot was the reason I had been gaining weight so quickly & my sex drive was completely gone. That having been said I have been off the depo shot since my last injection & after my next shot was due & I didn't get it, I spotted for a couple of days about a month after & have not done anything since. How long is normal to go without a period after quitting depo? Also my sex drive is still zero. I'm more excited about getting snapped with a wet towel then sex.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Jun 29, 2006, 11:25 AM
    Let me start with the fact that I am only a nursing student and I in no way can diagnose medical conditions on the internet, but I will start by giving you some advice based on my many years of personal experience as well as what I have learned in school to this point.

Oh, getting snapped with a wet towel, well that is bad. Let us start with your age. Certain ages can have an effect on menstruation.

However, that being said, it is not unusual to be without menstruation for 6 months to a year, depending on age and stress levels.

As far as sex drive, that may have more to do with stress levels or a hormonal imbalance.

It would be best for you to go to the doctor and have complete blood work done. This could arise from a number of things, hormonal imbalance, thyroid or pituitary problems.

The doctor has the best answers for you.
    aqua@home Posts: 565, Reputation: 107

Jun 29, 2006, 05:22 PM
    Just a little note here. Tatiana, I didn't get mine for over a year. I heard it can take 2 years to get your period back.

I would do what Janine said though, she sounds pretty helpful.
    Take care.