Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    DMCFlorida Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2006, 09:04 AM
    Who to contact to write a program?
    I’m an Office Manager for a small specialty company. We are growing and I want to be able to enter our daily orders into the computer. It will save time and storage space. My boss is not computer literate and it needs to be simple. I’m not sure who to contact. I have never done any programming so I don't if I could write it myself? Thank you for any input.
    colbtech Posts: 748, Reputation: 66

Jun 29, 2006, 10:05 AM
    How many orders per day?
    How many products?
    How secure do you want the data?
    How many fields do you require? (customer details, product details, etc)

I can't write the program, but maybe a simple spreadsheet would do?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jun 29, 2006, 10:10 AM
    Or a database like MS Access, FileMaker Pro... or here's a cheap entry level one:
    http://www.avanquestusa.com/products...re/db_prof.asp

In short, it's likely that there's software available that will do exactly what you want to do.
    valinors_sorrow Posts: 2,927, Reputation: 653
    I regard all beings mostly by their consciousness and little else

Jun 29, 2006, 11:34 AM
    I am self taught on QuickBooks.. and it could easily handle what you are asking and a whole lot more (for later). What came to mind reading your post is think big but take small steps. He may not be computer literate but if this initial step works out well, he might bite for more. You could compare prices of software programs and spend a little more getting something like QuickBooks but think about this...

Down the road, if what you get doesn't import into something bigger easily, then its more than money that you'll be out too.
    DMCFlorida Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2006, 11:49 AM