Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Quincy Posts: 5, Reputation: 2

Jun 24, 2006, 08:40 PM
    Post-Breakup
    I've never used a chatline like this before and I really hope it's useful to understand why this all happened to me. My boyfriend just recently broke up with me. We had a wonderful two years together in university. He was amazing. He was my best friend in first year university. When we got back from school we dated. I have no regrets from our dating. It was the best two years of my life. I am so in love with him! He feels that at this moment in his life he isn't ready for something serious. He has said that he loves me still but needs this time away from me to think about what he wants to do with his life. Thus, he feels that there are too many pressures on my end and cannot be with me at this time. He still wants me as a friend and to be in his life somehow.

He has talked about how it could be possible to have a future together. However this isn't for sure, and doesn't know when it could happen.

I have been pushing the issue of commitment for quite some time now because I feel that I cannot be with someone for so long without having established what we are. I love him so much. I am not sure what to do because I still want to be with him. I have tried talking to him but he says he cannot do this at this time. He doesn't want "to hurt me"- so he says. I just don't understand how two people that love each other have to be apart? Should I just let go off completely? Should I even attempt to be his friend again.

I just can't even picture us being apart. It's tearing me to pieces.

Thanks!
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Jun 24, 2006, 09:04 PM