Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jimmy_Jazz Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 17, 2008, 09:58 PM
    Marijuana and me
    So I've been smoking for about 5 years and its taken me a while while but I've realized that its something I'm really not interested in continuing. I'm in my second year of college so it crops up quite a bit. Its gotten to the point where I'm considering cutting out all my friends that do smoke. I still like my stoner buddies but they don't seem to understand why I'm no longer interested, in fact when I decline a session they seem insulted and generally make really tough for me to be around them. I was just wondering if anyone else has gone through this and how they handled the situation.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 17, 2008, 10:02 PM

Yes, normally you are going to have to stop hanging out with them, esp if they are making it hard for you.
    rockerchick_682 Posts: 496, Reputation: 72

Nov 17, 2008, 10:04 PM
    Well first of all, good for you! Believe me there're always new friends to make and friends that get angry when you make your own decisions aren't the best ones to have anyway.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Nov 18, 2008, 09:36 AM

Oddly enough you have found out that you are maturing and able to see the kids at play and don't want to partake anymore with them. Good for you! You'll find other friends to replace the stoned ones shortly. Just keep doing what you're doing and you'll find more friends (and better friends, too).
    BMI Posts: 892, Reputation: 270

Nov 18, 2008, 09:50 AM

I've had the same thing happen. Years and years ago I just did not enjoy the effect anymore and so I just stopped smoking. At first the guys were surprised but eventually they respected the decision. They still smoke everyday and when I go over it's not big deal. I can't believe I'm saying this but my bud's seem a little more mature than these dudes.