Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Indiana_Dad_2_5 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Nov 17, 2008, 07:21 PM
    Cold pressure but no hot water pressure?
    Hey all, I'm new to the forum and have a question regarding my water pressure.

I removed my gas and wired in and installed a new electric 50 gallon water heater in 2005. I have good cold water pressure at all of my downstairs faucets,water pressure has never been great upstairs, but I have virtually no hot water pressure at any of my faucets.

My water heater was installed September 2005, so I can't imagine that it is sediment from hard water already, but if it is, is there a way that I can fix this issue. If it is not a sediment problem then any ideas on what it could be?

Any troubleshooting advice would be greatly appreciated. I am a robotics tech by trade and definitely out of my comfort zone with residential plumbing!
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Nov 17, 2008, 07:46 PM
    Hey Indiana...

I'm wondering if it is possible that when the heater was installed the plumber/installer soldered a fitting directly onto the cold water nipple? If so, possible that the dip tube got melted and is reducing volume of water in to the heater..?

Also wonder here if the cold water inlet shutoff is defective? Was the shutoff replaced when new heater was installed?

Both of these could reduce volume of cold water into heater which of course would result in reduced hot water volume...

Let us know what you think/know here...

MARK

Nov 17, 2008, 08:01 PM

Thank God! I read some of your posts prior to asking this question and hoped that I could get your opinion as you seem to be very knowledgeable and very helpful.

Now, in answer to your query, no there was no soldering that took place and there was nothing replaced except the water heater itself.