Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dundeb Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 16, 2008, 04:35 PM
    A MOTHER trying to PROTECT her family
    Just wanted to ask if I have a year lease been in
    the unit for 4 months and two shootings ,my window broken out, black mold on the windows and a lot of critters (roaches-spiders)!!!! Been to the office to complain they say there doing what they can but no results so far. I am new to sc carolina so i did not know that this was not good area to raise kids till it was to late for the safety of myself and children i would like to break my lease is it possibly??? As i write there is someone outside shooting we are use to the police coming but to no prevail. I looked over the lease they want a 60 days notice i don't if we can live in this danger for another 60 days please help me what should and could i do thanks.............
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Nov 16, 2008, 04:41 PM

Actually you might be able to get out of the lease due to the black mold, but that may take months to prove as well.
    You might just have to move and then prove it in court.
    Take mold samples and photos and get all the documentation you
    Can to prove your case.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 16, 2008, 05:23 PM

What type of lease, most the 60 day notice is at the end of the lease so it does not renew. Normally you will be obligated to the entire lease.

Did you not inspect, walk in and look at the apartment. Merely being in a bad area is not usully enogh to break a lease. But the mold will be if they refuse to fix it.
    rockinmommy Posts: 1,123, Reputation: 82
    Ultra Member

Nov 17, 2008, 07:33 AM