Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    matt0512 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 12, 2008, 07:20 PM
    adding on
    I am going to add to my existing 10' x 16' concrete slab in the rear of my house and add a 16'x 24' enclosed room, how deep should I pour concrete in the new areas and should I secure my beams to concrete or should I sink them in the gound, Im a dock builder and this is the constrution I know. should I link the two slab together using rebarb or not? The only load on these walls should be the load of its roof.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Nov 16, 2008, 07:27 PM

Do not bother trying to connect the slabs, allow them to be free to float seoarte from each other. You need at least 4" of concrete with rebard or steel screen set 2" down inside. This is poured over5" bed of 3/4 rock and fines that have been leveled and compacted.
    Home repair Posts: 88, Reputation: 9

Nov 20, 2008, 07:14 PM
    Is this a room or a patio enclosure?

If this is a room you need a foundation, which could be a lot of thing, depending on location and code..

Call you local building dept
    shoproland Posts: 26, Reputation: 3

Dec 5, 2008, 05:54 PM

Matt, your overall thickness should be at least 4" thick as ballenger stated. But where there is a load to bear, such as walls, there should be beams dug. On residential construction this is usually 1'x1' all the way around the perimeter centered under the walls. You may reduce this considerably if the load isn't too great. Also, a rebar beam should be laid into ditches and connected at the corners and connected to your wire mesh or rebar reinforcement grid. A lot of work but well worth it in the end. Hope this helps... good luck... Roland
    InspectorDan Posts: 17, Reputation: 2

Dec 6, 2008, 08:24 AM