Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cassietimms Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 12, 2008, 02:38 PM
    Pet store dog on paper training
    I have a 4 month old Jack Russel Terrier and I won her in a school auction. She was a pet store dog and was delivered to the store on 08/17 and I bought her at the auction on 09/08. She is very sweet but really confused about everything. I can work through most problems but my major issue is potty training. She just goes where she wants as I think she has lost all bladder control from being in a cage or honestly does not know where to go.I do not believe in crate training and have bought wee wee pads, but honestly it has been so long training a dog I don't know what to do. She pees inside and I tell her no and tap her nose then take her outside to the wee wee pads and she stops peeing and won't go again , the next time she goes is inside. I don't think she knows what the pads are for. I am worried she will get an infection because I reprimand her when she goes inside and then take her outside and she won't go again. Please help, step by step what I should do on training her...
    linnealand Posts: 1,088, Reputation: 216
    Ultra Member

Nov 12, 2008, 03:32 PM

First of all, many puppies can't even begin to physically "hold it" until they're 4 months. I might be wrong, but it sounds like you might not have a lot of experience with dogs, and perhaps you're figuring out some of the training as you go along. In any case, your best bet is to pick up some puppy training books. It's only easy once you really know what you're doing.