Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    xbill Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Jun 16, 2006, 04:36 PM
    Dual boot problem
    Have win.xp home-SP2.pent 4,1.6.40g HD, 512 ram.a2nd-HD, 100GIG.Idid clean install of xp then using norton ghost cloned it over to 2nd HD.Also have partition commander to give doul boot,iwould like to save c:drive as a back up.useing my d: 100 g.for every day use. The problem I have is when I down load soft ware @things to D;hd.it also goe's on to c:I would like to keep them separate if that is possible.I am new to this and am trying to learn how this is done.I thought the two drives would be on there own.Iwill appreciate any help you can give me on this. IS there a diffren't way to boot to the drive's?OR IS THIS NORMAL? A noobe
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jun 16, 2006, 06:59 PM
    Why would you want to do this? Frankly, it doesn't make sense. Its one thing to dual boot different OSes. But I see no advantage to dual booting the same OS. I would leave the C drive just for the OS and use Ghost to cloen it as a backup. Then partition the other drive to reserve one part for data files and the other for programs.

Jun 17, 2006, 04:52 AM
    I would like to have a up to date back up in case one drive fails,it may not make sense,but I would like to know how to fix this problem!

Jun 17, 2006, 05:33 AM
    You should have an up-to-date backup. I always do, but you are going about it the wrong way. Since you have Norton Ghost, you can create an image file to store either on the second drive or on removeable media. What you are trying to do does not give you what you want.

Jul 26, 2006, 05:41 PM
    Answers don't address problem:dual boot;IF you can help me on this I would appreciae itvery much. xbill
    StuMegu Posts: 576, Reputation: 64

Jul 27, 2006, 12:58 AM