Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    volkswagenfmhs Posts: 28, Reputation: 0
    -

Jun 11, 2006, 06:50 PM
    Being an artist
    Being an artist is what I really want to do, but the money part is the only thing holding me and that I want to move to europe. Are there any people who make aliving by just painting and sculpting... I am very good and I make more avant garde things; not any landscapes or still life... help?
    orange Posts: 1,364, Reputation: 197
    Ultra Member

Jun 11, 2006, 07:19 PM
    Well I'm an artist and I made a living on my art before I had my baby (not an amazing living, but enough to live on and save a bit of extra money). I don't think it has as much to do with how good of an artist you are (unless you're like a Picasso, or else very lucky), as it has to do with being a good business person. If you are able to think not only about what you like to draw and paint but also what people will likely spend money on and have a target audience, then you can be successful. For example, I didn't just have exhibitions of my artwork in order to make money. I also did portrait work... like I'd set up in a mall and draw people's portraits, or portraits of their pets. I went to art shows not just to display my art but also to hand out business cards, offering commissions and also private art lessons. I taught art classes at a community centre, and art therapy at a hospice. Then I got into illustrating children's books and magazines, and making greeting cards.