Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    k5r Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2008, 01:55 PM
    Looking for a good / affordable handheld gps
    Hi,

I am looking for a solid, high performing, yet affordable handheld gps for hiking, geocaching, etc. I'd like one with very good accuracy, yet not off the wall expensive. Any suggestions or ideas? I've done a little research, but I'd like to know the qualities of Garmin, Magellan, DeLorme, or Lowrance. Are there better brands? What's your experience? Please help.
    DanielF Posts: 158, Reputation: 14

Nov 27, 2008, 05:15 PM

I've owned a few different models in the Garmin eTrex range, and found them all good value-for-money, and excellent for the purposes you propose.
    But I have no experience with other brands, so can't give an unbiased comparison. And one of my eTrex units died after a few years (out of warranty), so there may be reliability issues.
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

Nov 28, 2008, 07:00 AM

Magellan and Garnin are Great, Have had both, but Love My Delorme PN-20, Expensive, but worth it, They now have a PN-40, that is even better.
    You can have Street, Topo, Nautical or Aviation loaded and select which to view.
    You can even load a photo with 2 known points, It will orientate and make to scale by the 2 reference points. For $30, you can have a subscription to thei downloads, including 7.5 Minute, and NOAA Charts.
    Look around:
    DeLorme GPS, Maps & Data: NEW! PN-40 GPS - Blazing-fast handheld GPS, with dual-core processor & high-sensitivity Cartesio chipset. Also offering XMap 6 GIS with database synchronization, powerful LT-40 GPS, Street Atlas USA 2009 8 the State Atlas &
    Take Care
    It is slightly complicated, and extremely capable.
    Love it.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!