Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tadano Posts: 20, Reputation: 11

Oct 27, 2008, 10:13 PM
    Perfect situation, so why am I not happy?
    I've recently been doing a lot of thinking and thought I might turn here for advice (sorry in advance for the lengthy post). I feel very uncomfortable talking about this with people I know, because it seems like I'm complaining about a life that a lot of people would kill for. And that's not what I intend.

I am in my early 20s, living in New York City since I graduated college. I like it a lot, and I'm not just saying that. I have a bunch of friends here, and I'm constantly busy. What's more, at 23 years old, I already have what I consider my dream job as a journalist. I make a fair amount of money to survive in this expensive city, I get to travel a lot (which I love), and never once in nearly two years have I ever thought, "Damn, I really don't want to get up and go to work tomorrow." Obviously work is work, but I love what I do. And if I could pick any realistic job for this point in my life, this would be it.

My job, however, is the reason I have to be in New York. And New York is the reason that, despite everything, I still feel unhappy. It's not the city -- I love it. It's the fact that nearly all of my closest friends live back in my home state, and though it's not particularly far away, my work schedule prevents me from visiting as much as I'd like to. And I admit I'd like to a lot. When I go back home, I see all my friends bonding in a way that I can't do in New York, while I'm kicking it here relatively alone. They have a type of fraternity that I can't crack, because I live so far away. My heart longs for their type of life, but my head knows that to get it, I would have to give up everything I have in New York -- most importantly, this job that I've always wanted.