Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    KariAndersen Posts: 18, Reputation: 4

Jun 3, 2006, 10:10 AM
    Teacher Burn Out?
    I am a former middle school teacher of 12 years and I eventually burned out. I loved teaching but I couldn't sustain the level of involvement required to be an EXCELLENT teacher. I didn't want to be anything less than that.

How many of you have suffered from teacher burn out? Stories?
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Jun 4, 2006, 06:02 AM
    Hi, Kari,
    Nice Photo!
    I was a high school math teacher for 13 yrs, then decided to change careers. I think money was what made me do it!
    I also was getting tired of the same-ole, same-ole, day in and day out. I do know some teachers, at that time, not many, who should NOT have been teachers! They really didn't care, and spent all their prep time at school reading the newspaper; didn't do any at home either!
    Best wishes to you, and hope all is going well.

Jun 7, 2006, 07:34 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by fredg
    Hi, Kari,
    I do know some teachers, at that time, not many, who should NOT have been teachers! They really didn't care, and spent all their prep time at school reading the newspaper; didn't do any at home either!
    Best wishes to you, and hope all is going well.
    I know exactly what you are saying! I worked really hard to be an outstanding teacher (in my opinion.. he he! ) and I got paid the same as the video show-ers and the newspaper readers. I didn't resent them because I truly believe in the Law of Compensation, and I knew that I would be compensated in the long run for my efforts but it got frustrating at times.

I enjoy what I do so much now and I still teach but I teach people who want to learn and I get compensated accordingly.

Thanks for your reply and I hope to hear from you again!
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Jun 7, 2006, 09:14 AM
    Sign me up.