Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    madeinhell Posts: 22, Reputation: 1

May 31, 2006, 08:51 AM
    Ddr ram
    Today I bought new ram (512 mb ddr 400 mhz) for my computer but when I put it in and tried to run my computer, it restarted after clearing the windows xp loading screen. To make matters worse my computer will not even run with my old bit of ram (256 mb ddr 333 mz) I took it back to the shop and got another 1 but this 1 won't work either. The guy in the shop says that it should work but it won't. My comp specs are as follows:

Os - windows xp pro
    Motherboard -asrock sis 741
    I can't mind the rest.any help would be grately appreciated!!
    Bluehazel1953 Posts: 74, Reputation: 8

May 31, 2006, 01:29 PM
    I'm no expert but I've been told, any problems with memory try a Crucial scan.
    http://www.crucial.com/ scroll down a bit and scan your system. Someone else will be along soon. DavidB

Jun 2, 2006, 12:38 AM
    Yeah I've tried that and its detecting the new bit of ram I put but when I restart, xp won't boot up again! After the windows xp loading screen, it restarts over and over... any ideas?

Jun 2, 2006, 02:41 PM
    Also 1 other thing - for my computer 2 load up I need 2 pull out the csom thing every time and default everything every time! And again any help would be gray appreciated

Jun 5, 2006, 12:44 PM
    OK I've changed the battery and still the same is happening... my comp won't bootup without reseting the bios using the jumper! Anyone have any other ideas?
    spyyder Posts: 35, Reputation: -2

Jun 7, 2006, 07:33 AM
    Its probably your asrock motherboard - you get what you pay for dude.
    Intuit Posts: 7, Reputation: 3

Jun 7, 2006, 12:05 PM
    You should always clear the CMOS when changing out hardware. -- see you already did that

It is possible that something was damaged or that the RAM was not completely pushed in.
    Sometimes dust gets into the RAM slots also. Make sure you're well grounded prior to touching