Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kjwwildwoman Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 7, 2004, 01:08 PM
    Probation
    My court sentence is Treatment in Lieu of conviction. I am following all of the guidelines, but the probation officer and I have a huge personality conflict. Even though I am following all of the parameters set, he gives me grief every time we meet. It is getting to the point where I am physically sick for 2 days before my meeting with him. I desperately need to know if there is any thing I can do to get assigned to a new PO.

JimGunther Posts: 436, Reputation: 38

May 27, 2004, 02:15 AM
    Re: Probation
    I have been a probation officer for seven years in Maryland. You need to speak to the person's supervisor about the problem. You should never be upset when you see the probation officer as long as you are in compliance with your probation. It doesn't matter what each person's personality is as long as you stay in compliance for the period of the probation.
    magprob Posts: 1,877, Reputation: 300
    Ultra Member

Dec 19, 2005, 10:42 PM
    That's right
    Mr. Jim Gunther is absolutely right. If you are doing your best to comply, no worries mate! Speak to the supervisor ASAP.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Dec 27, 2005, 07:46 AM
    Hello kj:

I respectfully disagree with the other two posters. THEY, after all, are on the OTHER side. That said, they probably are correct. However, having been on probation, your PO holds your life in his hands. If he wants to destroy you, it doesn’t matter whether you’ve complied or not. He can screw you over big time.

You do need to do something about it. I agree, that communication with your PO’s supervisor is the first step. Do it in writing. Don’t complain that he’s a prick. They’ll probably like that. Discuss how the relationship is from YOUR perspective, and that you are doing the best you can.