Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jojojo Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 13, 2008, 05:59 PM
    F1 OPT Tax Treaty Ireland USA
    Hi Tax Expert,

I was a student on F1 visa for one year up to August 2008. Since October 1, I am working in a US firm on F1 OPT visa sponsored by the US university I attended. My question is: Am I exempt from Medicare, Social Security, Federal and State taxes? I am a citizen of Ireland. I know that there is a tax treaty in place, I am not sure if it provides me with full exemption.

Thank you.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Oct 13, 2008, 11:56 PM

For 5-years you are exempt from residency. You do not pay Social Security and Medicare taxes. You do pay income taxes. You must file non-resident tax return and will not get standard deduction, and there is no special deduction as per tax treaty:

"A student, apprentice, or business trainee who is a resident of Ireland immediately before visiting the United States and is in the United States for the purpose of full-time education at a recognized educational institution or full-time training is exempt from U.S. income tax on amounts received from sources outside the United States for the individual's maintenance, education, or training.
    Apprentices and business trainees are entitled to the benefit of this exemption for a maximum period of 1 year."

Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

Oct 23, 2008, 04:48 PM
    Mukat A

Thank you very much for your answer. So I will have to pay tax aside from Medicare and Social Security. Are there any ways I can reduce the amount I pay. For example can I keep receipts from moving expenses and deduct? Thank you.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Oct 24, 2008, 12:54 AM

For 2008, your exemption is $3500 and you can also claim itemized deductions.