Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jleef916 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 13, 2008, 12:00 PM
    Travel agent 1099-Misc
    Hi! I am a self-employed travel agent. I work through a "host" agency, through which I do my bookings. I received a 1099 from my host agency with my commissions on it. Obviously, I treat this as business income.

I booked a trip for 2 teachers to accompany students to a competition. The Board of Education paid me the cost of the trip and I made the arrangements. I received a 1099-misc from the Board of Education, but I believe this is incorrect. Should I treat this also as income and claim the cost of the trip then as an expense, or should I ask them to provide a corrected 1099 to me showing $0?

Thanks for any help you can provide!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Oct 15, 2008, 11:23 AM
    If the Board of Education 1099 represents income already covered by the host agency's 1099, then reflect that on your Schedule C.

If the IRS challenges this, it should not be too hard to show this by requesting a detailing accounting of your account from the host agency.
    jleef916 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 15, 2008, 11:40 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by AtlantaTaxExpert View Post
    If the Borad of Education 1099 represents income already covered by the host agency's 1099, then reflect that on your Schedule C.

If the IRS challenges this, it should not be too hard to show this by requesting a detailing accounting of your account from the host agency.

I'm not sure I am following you. I should claim the 1099 as income (even though it was a payment for a trip, not income) and then show a reduction on my Schedule C? How would I do that and what would I categorize the reducation as?

Should I ask the Board of Ed. To correct it on their end?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Oct 15, 2008, 12:50 PM