Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    saprophilous Posts: 21, Reputation: 4

Oct 13, 2008, 11:09 AM
    What the heck
    I've been running every day 1.7 miles to 3 miles, eating nothing but salads and healthy boring stuff around 1000 calories -- and yet I only fluctuate around 3 pounds difference... gaining it, and then losing it. This is making me nuts and super depressed, as I have been doing this for about 3 and a half months.

Can someone tell me what is going on?
    iFire Posts: 39, Reputation: -1

Oct 13, 2008, 11:15 AM

Genetics and metabolism problems could be the root of that. But I'm sure there are more possible ways.
    ZoeMarie Posts: 2,049, Reputation: 468
    Ultra Member

Oct 13, 2008, 11:15 AM

You can't just run, you have to mix up your routine. Your body will get used to running. You more or less have to "surprise your body." that's kind of what my trainer told me. And I'm not a health expert but maybe you need to boost your metabolism by eating small meals and eating more of them. That's what the lady that works at the gym told me.
    Dragonfly1234 Posts: 161, Reputation: 49

Oct 16, 2008, 07:41 PM

Same goes for your calorie intake. Your metabolism adjusts to the amount of calories you eat a day. If you've been eating 1000 cal per day and not losing any weight, then your metabolism has adjusted to only burning that much.

Another possibility is that you think you are only eating 1000 cal per day when in reality you are eating more. I'm not sure how certain you are of your calorie intake but that could be something to consider as well.