Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    deeday Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 2, 2008, 08:35 PM
    Boss smoking in the office?
    I'm a non-smoker all my life, and have taken great care to keep far away from ciggies because my father's side of the family has a frightening history of lung cancer.

Another note: in Australia, it's illegal to smoke inside buildings. Australian No Smoking Legislation - Smoking Ban - No Smoking In The Workplace - Seton Australia

So, I recently got a new job, about 2-3 days ago as a web designer. However, my boss smokes inside the office. He's a top bloke, very nice guy and very helpful. But I don't really know if I should ask him to only smoke outside. And because it's centralized airconditioning the smell (and smoke whenever he walks around with a lit cig) really goes around.

I don't want to tell him to smoke outside because I'm a complete, COMPLETE newbie at the office, and he's a really kind man. But I don't want to inhale the smoke or the smell either, because frankly it's a health hazard.

What should I do?
    Xrayman Posts: 1,177, Reputation: 193
    Ultra Member

Oct 2, 2008, 09:27 PM

Sorry but perhaps you need to meet with him and state your concerns-ask him about the non-smoking policy at your work does it apply etc? You may want to tell him about your family history of cancer and that you are concerned, it may make you unable to work properly.

How are other workers with this?

I'm sure it is illegal and he would be unlikely to argue with you-if he decides to sack you-then he's screwed!

You need to ask advice from an employment lawyer ASAP- this will ultimateley be free initially, and make sure you have a no-win no pay option.

I KNOW ALL ABOUT THIS a similar situation occurred with me-firstly go to the lawyer-ring and get their advice, this will make a great case for them-very hard to lose if you get the sack over what is essentially an illeagal activity
    Cheers
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790