Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    blondiechika05 Posts: 65, Reputation: 2

May 23, 2006, 01:25 PM
    Jobs in History
    Hi, I have a question about jobs in the field of history and apparently it didn't go through the first time I posted it here a little while ago. I also posted this under History because it pertains to both.

I graduated yesterday from Adelphi University with a Bachelors degree in History. Currently, the plan is for me to remain at Adelphi one more year to receive a Masters degree in Adolescent Education within the Scholars Teachers Education Program (STEP) at the school. However, the classes are at night, so that leaves me available during the day, with the exception of the 50 observation hours I will be doing in the fall.

I know the obvious answer to the question of what to do with all that time: Get a job. This is where my request for assistance comes in. It would probably be ideal for me to look for work as a teacher's aide or a substitute teacher or something of that nature. However, I do not feel personally ready to actually start in the field of education. Instead I would like to get more hands-on experience in the field of history. Would anyone have any suggestions as to how to go about finding a job doing historical research or something in the subject other than teaching? My specific interest is in American history, especially colonial times, slavery, and imperialism.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated and I thank you in advance for your help.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 23, 2006, 02:39 PM
    You have graduated with a BS or BA in History and if you don't feel ready to start teaching, I am doubtful that you ever will feel. Most teachers in the US anyway only have a Bachelors degree. ( did you do a student teaching assignment as part of your requirements to certify to be a teacher)