Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    xoxaprilwine Posts: 582, Reputation: 71

Sep 28, 2008, 08:30 AM
    Legal Assistant/Paralegal Career Change?
    Hello,

Back in 2005 I graduated and started working for a small law firm doing everything except Family Law and Criminal Law. Since it was just one lawyer... who was a slave driver I went many hours unpaid and there was no incentive. I conceived and went on maternity, when I came back I was not happy doing my job... actually I hated it. Not because I didn't love my job I just hated my employer since he didn't want to work around my new "schedule" (having kids changes priorities) so mutually we agreed that it was time for me to move on. I temped out for a bit and a job fell on my lap... I didn't even apply. Now I am working at one of the largest, international law firms which is reputable all over the major cities Canada and New York. There are many incentives, I received a $10,000 raise with full benefits and everything, just don't care for the downtown thing.