Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sandraisonfire Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 23, 2008, 10:56 AM
    Sex 1 week after an abortion and the condom broke.
    I recently had an abortion and the bleeding only lasted that day and it was very light. I took the antibiotics they gave me and started the pill on the Sunday after the abortion --2 days later. A week to the day later I had sex and used a condom--2 actually, because we thought the first one was going to break.. and sure enough. The second one broke upon ejaculation-
    What are the chances that I could get pregnant again?
    Taking into consideration I started the pill but was only on it for a week, while taking the antibiotics. Am I more or less fertile after the abortion?
    jjwoodhull Posts: 1,378, Reputation: 239
    Ultra Member

Sep 23, 2008, 11:51 AM
    Hey Sandra... yes, you could get pregnant. I am not an expert, but it is my understanding that you are more fertile just after an abortion. Also, doctors warn to use condoms during the first month on the pill - so I assume that it is not always effective while your body is adjusting.

Also, remember that antibiotics lessen the effectiveness of the pill.

Of course, you could also be fine. :)

Sep 23, 2008, 11:54 AM
    Thanks, it's a weird situation because I have been on the pill for about 3 years but rearly used a condom with my boyfriend of 2 years then one day I got pregnant and did have an abortion.
    I used a condom after the abortion the first and only time we had sex and that's what happened.. I don't know whether to see it as a sign or bad luck haha.
    Thanks for the reply
    liz28 Posts: 4,662, Reputation: 1034
    Ultra Member

Sep 23, 2008, 12:02 PM

Was it expained to you to wait 2 weeks before having sex and it safer to wait after check-up. Regardless of you taking the medicine your insides needed to heal that why your not suppose to take a bath, douch, have sex, use tampons or have anything inside your vagina.