Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    srizookie Posts: 27, Reputation: 2

Sep 10, 2008, 10:42 AM
    Healthy/non-fattening food on a budget
    I'm currently unemployed and sometimes I don't have food to eat.it seem that the foods that are fattening and not healthy is the cheapest.I started riding my bike to burn calories but the food options are carbs and garbage.sometimes all I can afford is oatmeal.what are some healthy options of food when you have no money?thanks to anyone who answers back in advance
    danielnoahsmommy Posts: 2,506, Reputation: 297
    Ultra Member

Sep 10, 2008, 10:49 AM
    Oatmeal Isa Good Star. You Need To Add Vegies & Fruit Or You Will Get Rickets. Check With Your Local Food Pantry
    linnealand Posts: 1,088, Reputation: 216
    Ultra Member

Sep 18, 2008, 05:09 PM
    I certainly hope things have taken a turn for the better! Contacting your local food pantry is an excellent idea.

most people don't realize it, but many of the healthiest foods are also the least expensive. Ready-made foods are the least cost-effective in the long run.

get the basics, and eat at home. Here are some important and less expensive staples:

beans
    chickpeas
    rice
    potatoes
    carrots

beans and chickpeas are an excellent source of protein. Combine them with rice for greater nutritional value. You can do whatever combination you wish. If you can manage it, a green vegetable would be a very good idea, as would milk. Oatmeal is extremely good for you.

one of the cheapest and best things to make is SOUP. Make a big enough batch and it can last you for days. Make a minestrone. Adding a new ingredient everyday will keep it interesting. I heard a food radio interview with a chef who did a successful experiment buying all of her food shopping at the dollar store that carried fresh produce.