Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Cancer Tenant Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 31, 2008, 12:49 PM
    Cancer Patient Tenant
    Hello I have a question with no one to help me. I have been leaving a rental apt for 1 1/2 yrs and I am living with my father who is a co-tenant. Well this past month the dr's told my father that he as terminal cancer and that he would only live approx 3 to 6 months tops. I oofered my landlord that I would stay another 2 months my question is can I break a lease that's is more than half way through with no penalty since it's a health cond of my father. I can't really afford to stay. I live in fort lauderdale Florida. Thanks
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Aug 31, 2008, 12:53 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Cancer Tenant
    Hello i have a question with no one to help me. i have been leaving a rental apt for 1 1/2 yrs and i am living with my father who is a co-tenant. well this past month the dr's told my father that he as terminal cancer and that he would only live approx 3 to 6 months tops. i oofered my landlord that i would stay another 2 months my question is can i break a lease thats is more than half way thru with no penalty since its a health cond of my father. i can't really afford to stay. i live in fort lauderdale florida. thanks

Who is on the lease? Both of you? One of you? You can TRY to break the lease, TRY to negotiate, but unless the landlord wants to cooperate, you are either the person who signed the contract or the co-signer and you are responsible for the rent.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Aug 31, 2008, 12:58 PM