Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    davethomasowns Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Aug 27, 2008, 08:03 PM
    Connects to Network, but can't get on Internet
    Hello!

Just purchased an HP dv5-1017nr at Best Buy today. I can't get the internet to work. It sees networks, excellent strengths, and even connects to them, but will not go to the internet. I tried two different houses. It shows that it connects to the network but stays stuck on "Identifying."

Exchanged for a new one being a noob, and this one does the same thing. I have a desktop and another notebook with Vista that works with my router, so any ideas why this isn't working? I really need the internet for school that started on Monday (I'm a college student.) Here are some settings someone else asked for:

If you click here you can see how it says "Identifying." http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/6023/connectionnc5.jpg

Thank you kindly!
    Shane
    aung2bo Posts: 87, Reputation: 7

Aug 27, 2008, 10:31 PM
    Check your router first. Do you DHCP in your router? If not , you need to key in the IP address , Default Gate Way and DNS in your wireless network connection. If your use DHCP in your router, check the DHCP configuration.

Check your IPv4 setting also , automatic or manual for IP ?

Try it.

Best Regards,
    ABB

Aug 28, 2008, 08:35 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by aung2bo
    Check your router first. Do you DHCP in your router? If not , you need to key in the IP address , Default Gate Way and DNS in your wireless network connection. If your use DHCP in your router, check the DHCP configuration.

check your IPv4 setting also , automatic or manual for IP ?

Try it.

Best Regards,
    ABB
    Yes, I see that it's using DHCP. The IPv4 settings are on auto.

It's a D LINK DIR-625. If I wanted to try and manually key in the numbers, how do I find this information out?

Thanks
    Shane
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Aug 28, 2008, 08:43 AM