Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Moomin Posts: 167, Reputation: 19

Aug 27, 2008, 01:40 PM
    Accepting a job etiquette?
    Hello all!

I am currently unemployed and applying for (what feels like millions of) jobs. To let you know I am currently applying for retail work, I have lots of experience in that!

I am hoping to hear back from one potential employer on Friday... However, I have another job interview tomorrow! This involves a trial period on the shop floor and I think it will be make or break time... meaning I think they are going tell me at the end of the shift, then and there, if I have the job or not!

So, I really want to hold out to hear from the job on Friday as it's a better position in the store!

I have no idea what to do! I don't know if I should take the job tomorrow if I am offered it or hold out for the other job?

I need a job badly! I am concerned about having to tell the first employer I have changed my mind and don't want it after all if I get the other job?

Is it rude to ask for the weekend to consider my answer?

HELP ME PLEASE? As you can tell my head is in bits!
    Camborio Posts: 75, Reputation: 4

Aug 27, 2008, 02:06 PM
    I would politely ask if you could have the weekend to consider since you need more time to go over the benefits package they are offering you. If they need an immediate answer it seems logical you need the job, take it if they offer it to you, if the other place offers you a job try and juggle both jobs or leave one behind. You can adjust your resume accordingly. Good luck.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 27, 2008, 06:05 PM
    But in the end a job in the hand is better than being hungry next week.

Aug 27, 2008, 08:44 PM
    Very true, you sometimes have to take what is offered to you in order to find better.

Aug 28, 2008, 01:29 AM
    I would like to thank you millions guys and girls! You have been a massive help! I'll let you know how it goes!

Aug 28, 2008, 12:56 PM