Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    teacher4564 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 26, 2008, 12:36 PM
    Nursing versus Teaching?
    I'm currently a teacher working in the elementary grades. I'm also single and in my forties. I made a career change a few years ago, so I haven't been in teaching more than five years. I really enjoy teaching and especially working with third graders. I can honestly say it's rewarding. However, I'm teaching in a state with one of the lowest teacher pay scales. I work many more hours than I should just to keep up with the demands of teaching. The pay isn't very good, and I'm required to continue my education without the increase in salary! I've been thinking of another career change into nursing for several reasons: better pay, more job opportunities, better benefits, etc. Do any nurses or others have suggestions or advice?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 26, 2008, 12:49 PM
    Well I am going to be blunt teachers salary have not gone down in the last 5 years, the work a teacher did 5 years ago is the same as today. So if you were not going to be satisfied with the income why did you go to school and get the education for it?

I would recommend doing some non paid work for a hospital or nursing home to see what type of work they really do and see if that is something you could do.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Aug 26, 2008, 02:58 PM
    As just an observer, I would say that the levels of responsibility are similar for both professions, but nurses do very stressful work with no room for error. And I believe the pay for nurses is better.
    I think that your best move would be to find another jurisdiction for teaching, that pays better but try to find one that will give you retirement credit for what you have earned.
    But, if you really have your heart set and can swing it and think you will be up to the task, go for nursing.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646