Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tjpapa Posts: 22, Reputation: 2

Apr 17, 2006, 08:36 AM
    Exterior paint jobs - cost?
    I want to paint the outside of my house and I got a quote from someone in town and I'm a little sketical about the cost. It's a one story, 1400 foot house in San Diego with stucco. The quote I got to power wash, paint the house and paint the trim is $2000. Does this sound right? Seems low to me but I've never done this before.
    Thanks,
    - TJ
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Apr 17, 2006, 08:41 AM
    Ballparking it I would call that about right IF the job includes the paint, and includes scraping any loose paint and using a primer on any exposed wood.

I'd also check to be sure the contractor has good references and has been doing business in town for at least several years.

Finally, I'd get at least 2 more bids. Anytime I'm going to spend more than $1000 for a project I get at least 3 bids.
    tjpapa Posts: 22, Reputation: 2

Apr 17, 2006, 08:46 AM
    ... it does include patch stucco for cracks and broken areas. Good questions though for when I meet with him. I'm not sure if that includes the paint. Thx.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 17, 2006, 07:23 PM
    Yes, I own my own pressure washer equipment ( commercial grade) and of course I merely go to our local shelter and pay some of the residents to paint for me. ( scrapings and the such)

But for my area that seems a little high but perhaps not for your area, as suggested I would get at least two more bids. Also ask for and check references

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Exterior - caulk instead of mortar? [ 1 Answers ]