Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mz2richard Posts: 39, Reputation: 1

Apr 14, 2006, 11:28 AM
    Is It A Buyer's Market or Seller's Market..
    Hello group, would someone please explain to me what determines a "buyer's market" and a "seller's market"? We always hear the "news" of the housing boom busting and now we hear more homeowner's are putting their houses on the market than there are new homes being built, but what does that mean? Thank You!
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Apr 15, 2006, 06:26 AM
    Hi,
    I am not a Professional in buying and selling of houses.
    But, am 64 yrs old, been following the trends from National Network News Associations, and follow the economy of the United States, on a regular bases.
    A "Sellers' Market" is when homes are selling more, meeting or exceeding the number of homes that are actually up for sale; and the Seller can get more money for them, in most cases.
    A "Buyers' Market" is when many, many homes are up for sale, being a larger number to choose from, and the prices are not as high.
    It's determined by the number of homes up for sale, and how fast they are being sold. Also, depends on the economy, and if interest rates are going up, or begin to fall.

It's similar to selling brand new cars. When brand new cars are no longer bought from dealers, they lower the prices, to some extent, offering more incentatives for people to buy them. That's a "buyers' market".
    If new cars are selling fast, then it's a "sellers' market", not marking down the prices very much.

Here is a reference link for the above information on homes, and has some other information as well:
    http://www.yourhome123.com/infocente...&ArticleID=215
    Best wishes.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Apr 15, 2006, 06:45 AM
    Hi,
    Forgot to answer your last question.
    Since March, 2006, the median prices for new homes has been dropping.