Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gbrenes Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2006, 03:27 PM
    I have several sources of income
    Hi, I am a foreign graduate student with a F-1 visa. Since I've been here for only 4 years, I am a nonresident alien for tax purposes

I got a 1042-S form because of my income as a trainee and a W-2 form because of my income as a research assistant. I completed my 1040NR-EZ using these two forms.

However, I provided statistical personal service to one of my professors for a short period (4 weeks). I charged $390.00 for this work that I did, but I do not have any form that states that I was paid $390.00 because the professor that hired me told me the amount was very small, so she didn't need to extend a W-2 form for that.

I do not know how to include these $390.00 in my tax return. Then my question is:

a) should I declare the $390.00, since the amount is so low that it might be exempted?

b) If I should, how do I certify that I received it?

c) If I should, in what field of 1040NR-EZ should I include this?

Thank you in advance

Gilbert
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 12, 2006, 08:15 AM
    Gilbert:

A & C) The income is not exempt from income tax, You need to report the $390 on Schedule C. This will require you file Form 1040 NR isntead of the Form 1040NR-EZ.

b) You do not need certification. The professor is correct; she does not have to file either a W-2 or Form 1099-MSIC on any amount under $600.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Need sources of fashion tips. [ 2 Answers ]

Please can someone give me some sources (www) where I can find tips for women fashion (in all aspects - makeup, hairstyle bla bla bla). GB

2 heat sources... one blower? [ 4 Answers ]