Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ramya Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 10, 2006, 10:09 AM
    Single W2 form for wages earned on F1 and H1-B
    Hello,

I am a citizen of India, I worked as an intern on F1 from Jan to May 2005, then from July 2005 I started working on H1-B for the same employer. But I have received only a single W2-form indicating that the wages I earned on F1 + the wages I earned on H1B are taxable.
    1) Is this right? Or should the W2 form not include the wages I earned while on F1?
    2) My employers payroll company says that they require a "certificate of coverage " to prove that I am tax exempt while on F1...

My husband is on H1-B and we filed taxes as ''Married filing jointly" in the 1040 Form. I thought that I could file for amendment once I receive the corrected W2 form from my employer, but now I am utterly confused and am not sure what I am supposed to do...
    Your help would be greatly appreciated...
    Thanks.
    vaya Posts: 55, Reputation: 1

Apr 10, 2006, 01:35 PM
    Wages earned as F-1 student are taxable just like any other wages and I don't see a problem it being lumped with H1B wages (unless I am missing something here). "Tax exempt while on F1" most likely refer to social security and medicare taxes, a comparably small amount.

Vaya
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 11, 2006, 09:03 AM
    Vaya is correct again; I have nothing to add!

Apr 11, 2006, 10:58 AM
    But how do I claim the standard deductable for the period I was on F1 according to the India-US treaty? I was not aware of this earlier... and now since I have already filed the taxes for 2005 is there anything that can be done now?

Thanks a lot your responses are greatly appreciated!
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 12, 2006, 08:08 AM
    On Form 1040NR, second page, on the line marked ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS, put $5,000. Print on the dotted line to the left the following statement: