Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jipped Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 28, 2008, 08:21 PM
    commission pay
    I am a 1099 insurance agent whom my employer is with holding my pay for a bogus reason. Can I take her to small claims over my commission? I am paid 2 x;s a month so can I do this over and over again?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 28, 2008, 08:28 PM
    What are they with holding it for ? I would assume as soon as you sue them, they would cancell your contract anyway. So I doubt it will be a issue honestly. But if they don't, if you win, normally that should clear the issue.

If you will explain the issue, do you have a withholding fund to cover charge backs, are you paying back advanced commissions?
    In the end you should have a contract with the company, that says what they can deduct and what they can not.

I know on my companies, they will withhold advertising and keep a percentage back for future charge backs, since they are paying a advanced commission, not as paid

Jul 28, 2008, 08:36 PM
    I have no contract, and received a collections notice at work that the principle opened and read and wants it "cleared" up before she allows me back in the office! I know that's another issue... but mean while I have NO income. I do not get advanced commissions only paid on what comes in from companies, usually 2-5 months behind I have been there 9 years and my commission checks are between 3-7K per month

Jul 28, 2008, 08:42 PM
    I am in a VERY specialized market with a 98% retention, I handel about 95% of my own accounts with CSR's only doing computer input. She is at a HUGE disavantage right now with out me, but that's her problem mine is income...
    froggy7 Posts: 1,801, Reputation: 242
    Ultra Member

Jul 29, 2008, 07:40 AM
    So she's not withholding your pay, just not letting you work? Or was the collections notice a request to garnish your wages?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056