Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BAMF Posts: 50, Reputation: 2

Jul 23, 2008, 11:22 AM
    Problems loading a DVD into Windows Movie Maker.
    I'm not sure if I'll be able to explain my situation clearly, but I'll try.
    I have a Hitachi DZ-MV550A and this is my first time using it. I finalized the DVD-R and loaded it into my computer. It comes up on the computer as DVD_CAMERA (E:), so that's not the problem. Now I want to edit the video so when I go to Windows Movie Maker I go to import video. But when I go to there it says "The file E:\DVDCAM\DVDCAM.IFO is not a supported file type, and it cannot be imported into Windows Movie Maker." Do I have to convert it or am I just importing it wrong. Help!
    Scleros Posts: 2,165, Reputation: 262
    Hardware Expert

Jul 23, 2008, 12:43 PM
    Windows Movie Maker supports .asf, avi, m1v, mp2, mp2v, mpe, mpeg, mpg, mpv2, wm, and .wmv file formats. I'm not familiar with your camera model, but I doubt it writes directly to DVD discs in any of those formats. So, yes a conversion will probably be needed or the camera's save format adjusted. I also suspect your camera included software to extract footage from finalized discs and perform rudimentary editing and conversion. See your manual or Hitachi's support site.
    BAMF Posts: 50, Reputation: 2

Jul 23, 2008, 02:03 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Scleros
    Windows Movie Maker supports .asf, .avi, .m1v, .mp2, .mp2v, .mpe, .mpeg, .mpg, .mpv2, .wm, and .wmv file formats. I'm not familiar with your camera model, but I doubt it writes directly to DVD discs in any of those formats. So, yes a conversion will probably be needed or the camera's save format adjusted. I also suspect your camera included software to extract footage from finalized discs and perform rudimentary editing and conversion. See your manual or Hitachi's support site.