Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    confused89 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 22, 2008, 05:23 PM
    Boundaries for parents
    I am a 19 year old student who previously (due to some trials and tribulations) lived on my own. For about a year I moved on my own and rented a basement myself, paying for food, etc. I worked three jobs and was in school full- time. My partner was 10 years my senior and was my first relationship. It was difficult however with all of the stresses and experiences I have dealt with in my life has given me perspective and a sense of maturity of who I am. I lived with my boy friend for one month but soon realized that it was all too soon. When I ended up having a nervous breakdown I yellow-paged my dad (which I have not talked to or seen in 6 years) and started having a parent – figure in my life. When I moved in with him I did not realize I was going to have to go back in time. He freaked out when I slept over with my boy friend that I have known for three years and we both love each other deeply. He basically said he will not let “this continue” and how “I should not be proud of what I am doing.” Now I consider myself a mature, responsible adult, am I wrong to think this is intrusive? My father also said that he needs to meet him, I believe that this should be my choice and his demands are unrealistic to the stage our father daughter relationship is at. Now my current relationship is the last on my priority. I work at a minimum 30 hours a week and in the process of doing many projects to contribute to my aspirations for the future. My father believes I am being "immoral" and "distastful." This is truly in my opinion a violation of my privacy and total judgement on my choices, which I believe is wrong. Where and how can I draw the line? I am reliant for him for financial support and he is currently using this against me. I do not want to lie or change the choices I make just to satisfy his conscience.