Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Briarose Posts: 13, Reputation: 2

Jul 10, 2008, 11:07 PM
    Speaking up about work space
    This is probably a redundant question because I can guess what most people will tell me... but anyway-

I'm an assistant for a professor in a university. We were going to move into new offices (well, new for us) and even though the offices were smaller, I was happy because I would actually get an office (though tiny, it had four walls and a door, which is all I needed). I used to sit in the reception area of a suite, even though I was not the receptionist (yeah, try telling that to people who need directions).

Anyway, my boss raised a stink because he didn't want to move (for a variety of reasons, one of which was that his office was too small, even though it was only slightly smaller than his current office and they gave him the largest of the new offices; the other reason was that he didn't like the drone from outside noise). And finally the dept head gave in at the last minute - he let him get this huge room to use as an office and as a consequence, I now have to sit in the cubicle maze near his new office.

So I went from having an office to now being in a cubicle. He was the one who told me about the change and as he was telling me, he kept asking "isn't this better? Your office was so small... some people might be claustrophobic. don't you think this is better?" I was livid but all I said was (shrug) "it's not my decision."

So I was wondering - should I bother voicing my opinion to my boss? I don't believe there would be any sort of negative effects of me speaking up. I'm not going to throw a tantrum like he basically did, but maybe simply mention to him that the cubicles are really noisy and there is absolutely no privacy (the cubicles are more "open" than usual). The noise factor is a big issue for me - I get distracted.