Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Motorscooter Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 7, 2008, 05:56 PM
    What is a veteran
    I am never certain when in a situation where people are asked if they are veterans of military service or just if they are veterans or if they served in the US military what I should say. I have always thought of a veteran as someone who served in the regular military during wartime but on one occasion when I failed to stand as a veteran I found that friends thought I had some lack of pride in service. I have great pride in it just not certain where I fit. I served in the US Army Reserves as a Military Policeman. Was on active duty for only six months plus the time I served in reserves with annual summer camp, monthly drills, etc. Stayed a little longer than requirement because unit officers recommended me for commission as officer. This did not happen. Was alerted for active duty during invasion of Cuba and was leaving with advance party when President announced settlement of missile crisis. So what do I say I am?
    George_1950 Posts: 3,099, Reputation: 236
    Ultra Member

Jul 7, 2008, 06:10 PM
    Welcome to AMHD and thank you for your service. The answer to your question depends upon the context of the question. Here is an interesting answer: Veteran Benefits
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 7, 2008, 06:37 PM
    A veteran is anyone that has served their country in the military. To the public that is all that they care about. And to be honest while I served 100's of feet down below the ground and all the action I saw was a bar fight in Kanasa at a biker bar. My waiting to turn the key to blow that communist threat away was as much serving as anyone was .
    okweeb Posts: 9, Reputation: 2

Mar 12, 2012, 02:27 AM