pratikrana Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 25, 2006, 01:44 PM
    Tax return for "married" with wife on H4 Visa
    Hi, I am in New Jersey since September 2004. So in the calendar year of
    2005 I have been a resident of New Jersey. I am on H1 Visa. My wife
    Came to US in May 2005 on H4 Visa.

I have following questions on filing tax return for 2005:

1. Am I a resident alien? Is my wife a
    Resident/non-resident/dual-resident alien?

2. Do I file as "Married filing separately" OR "Married filing
    jointly"? What are the benefits of one against the others. One benefit
    I noticed for filing jointly was that I can deduct my student loan
    Interest payments. Please note that my wife cannot work, cannot have
    SSN and has zero income. Does "Married filing jointly" is even valid in
    That case?

3. Do I need a Tax Identification No. for my wife?If yes then is it
    Applicable for both cases (jointly and separately)

4. In one of the previous posts, you mentioned something about June filing-First Year choice. How is it applicable in my case? Could you elaborate?

I'll be grateful if you can let me know the way I should file my taxes to get maximum tax refund.

Thanks.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 25, 2006, 11:41 PM
    Pratikrana:

1) You are a resident alien. If you file jointly with your wife (my recommendation), she will be treated as a resident alien.

2) You may file jointly with your wife, if, for no other reason, to double your standard deduction to $10,000.