Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    IM4U Posts: 156, Reputation: 16

Jun 25, 2008, 05:47 PM
    For website traffic, how to do search engines & keywords?
    To draw traffic to my website(s), I need a bit of guidance as to how to work search engines (and which ones) and how to do keywords. I'm reasonably competent with words, but I'm a real novice with the technical side of computers and internet. I just try to remember which buttons I used when it worked correctly and do the same again.

Thanks.
    WallyHelps Posts: 1,018, Reputation: 136
    Ultra Member

Jun 25, 2008, 06:36 PM
    Basically, if you're not in Google, you're not really on the web.
    1. Google ranks your page by the number of (quality) pages that link to you. Trade links with other related web-sites.
    2. Make sure to put meaty content at the top of the page, because Google indexes first 1500 words.
    3. Put keywords in page title.
    4. Don't use services that claim to improve your pagerank. You're just wasting money, and some may irritate Google such that you'll get banished.

Hope this helps,
    WallyH
    vingogly Posts: 718, Reputation: 105

Jun 27, 2008, 05:09 PM
    Building on what WallyH wrote... If you can get a good ranking in Google, you'll be fine in the other search engines. Approach every page in your site as a new SEO problem; have no more than 3 to 8 keywords, and use them in the keywords metatag, the description metatag, the browser title, and the H1 headers. Use them also in the first 150 words of text on your page. Be sure to match the description metatag contents and the keywords metatags to the content of the page, and don't use the same description & metatags on every page.