Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Shell 1111 Posts: 30, Reputation: 1

Jun 25, 2008, 07:56 AM
    High potassium
    My boyfriend recently got told he had high potassium level in his blood and now he has to have hep test. Why is this. When I have looked on internet high potassium levels relate to the kidneys not the liver?
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Jun 25, 2008, 08:07 AM
    Was this a serum (blood) or urine potassium test?
    Expert

Jun 25, 2008, 08:11 AM
    Did they state what kind of Hep test it would be? Possibly Hep C?
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Jun 25, 2008, 08:24 AM
    Why theyd jump to hepatitis screening from elevated potassium immediately is beyond me, but I'm not an expert in this area... just knowledgeable enough to chime in occasionally.

Had they done a liver panel yet? Why was he being tested in the first place? Any symptoms? History worth talking about?
    Expert

Jun 25, 2008, 08:28 AM
    I agree KP, this is way out of the ordinary to check for hep when finding elevated K+. While looking though my diagnostic books, elevated K+ can be caused by a wide variety of things. Does your boyfriend have diabetes per chance? Addison's Disease? Is he dehydrated? What is his diet like? Does he eat a lot of salt or salt substitutes?

I can't seem to find a link between the two. Alcoholism (which would include the liver) would cause a decrease in his potassium (K+) level, as would a number of other factors that would include the liver.

Jun 25, 2008, 08:30 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by J_9
    Did they state what kind of Hep test it would be? Possibly Hep C?

No it just says hepititus. He had high potassium in blood test so was wondering why he had to have hep test, also he has to go for u&e and ltf test
    Expert

Jun 25, 2008, 08:33 AM
    Does he have any other health conditions?

Jun 25, 2008, 08:34 AM