Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    traka Posts: 50, Reputation: 1

Mar 17, 2006, 06:17 AM
    Supicious circumstances
    After trying to do a software deal with a "programmer", ( the deal fell through)
    Some of the program on test I kept. But I have the developing software to open it up to.

All I had to do was design the GUI and he would do the coding.

Apparently he was not a qualified programmer, (I found out later) self taught and in retrospect I think he had other agendas.

However, can these "test programs" apparently be trojans or "looky looky" programs that were specifically made by this programmer and not be detected ?

Are there ways to detect other types of trojans made for a one time "attack" or to target a one time PC, therefore not becoming part of the updates ?

My computer now seems to be getting slow when I multi-task with Excel.
    This is un-characteristic and never had this slowness before.
    How would I check to find if this "programmer" has done something sneaky ?

I use:
    AGG paid version
    Adaware paid version
    Spy Bot paid version
    Kerio Firewall paid version

Nothing is found, but..

Much appreciated if this could be sorted.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Mar 17, 2006, 06:36 AM
    HI,
    Did you run your Spyware scans and Antivirus scans in Safe Mode? It sometimes helps more by using Safe Mode.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 17, 2006, 06:42 AM
    The key would be your firewall. Check the logs for any outgoing traffic that looks strange.

Mar 17, 2006, 06:51 AM
    Thanks, I'll get back in a day or so.
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member

Mar 17, 2006, 06:54 AM
    What were the programs written in/for? I'd gladly take a quick look through the code he wrote for you and see if I notice anything that I feel is a little dodgy.

Mar 17, 2006, 05:16 PM
    Thanks for the clues and what to look for.