Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    davidp90210 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2006, 01:52 PM
    Transparent Materials
    I am a third year student, and in my current project I am looking for an alterative to using glass. I want to use a material that lets as much light through as possible, but can't be seen through. Any help, or links, would be greatly appreciated.

Dave Pratt
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Mar 15, 2006, 05:36 AM
    You probably already know that there's not much out there. To get the effect you want, the traditional application is reflective or opaque glass...

I did a Google search for

"glass alternatives" OR "alternatives to glass" AND windows

And found only one alternative referred to: Polycarbonate

Here are some links about it as a glass alternative:
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...ow&btnG=Search
    a10p123 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 17, 2006, 07:56 AM
    As Mr.Rickj, Polycorbonate maay be alternate material, but there are some plastic will match your requirement.
    mcfate Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 19, 2007, 12:48 AM
    Polycarbonate (tradename Lexan) is tougher, but Acrylic plastic (Acrylic glass - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia) is more transparent and available in more colors. It comes in 1/8 and 1/4 in thickeness in a range of whites, as well as clear and other colors. Both products should be available at a plastic supplier near you.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Transparent Animation Over Desktop! [ 2 Answers ]

Hi There! Can Anyone Tell Me How Can I Make A Small Animation TRANSPARENTLY Run Over My Desktop? EXAMPLE: "VIRTUA GIRL" No Box Around. No Background Just Opaque Object! Any EASY Software (No C++ Please) Or Any Other Similar Utility? Thank You!

Transparent icons and disable desktop [ 3 Answers ]