Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aadesh Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Jun 15, 2008, 06:48 PM
    Deductions for Interns on F1 Visa status.
    Hello All,
    I am an international student working as an intern in Houston TX. It would be a great help if you could inform me what are the taxes that are deductible from my salary. Currently there are 3 types of taxes that are being deducted from my account.
    1) FED W/H.
    2) OASDI FED
    3) Medcare FED.
    When I was working on-campus, only federal withholding was being deducted. I think FED W/H should be deducted from this pay as well but was not sure for the next two. If you have any links from IRS that support this point please send that across to so that it can forward it to the HR dept.

Thank you all!

Regards,
    aadesh.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jun 15, 2008, 11:04 PM
    1. On F1 visa you are exempt for 5-years that is your income is not subject to Social security and Medicare taxes. Also your days in the U.S. are not counted for residency and you must file nonresident tax return.
    For nonresident filing, read
    Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

2. On your nonresident tax return, you get exemption of $3400 (for 2008) and deduction as per tax treaty. If you are from India, you will get standard deduction.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jun 16, 2008, 06:31 AM
    Items #2 and #3 are Social Security and Medicare taxes, respectively.

As MukatA noted, if you were on F-1 visa while working, you are exempt from these taxes. Go back to the employer and ask for a refund (required action before you submit Form 843 to the IRS for a refund of these taxes).

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!