Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    msir Posts: 78, Reputation: -2

Jun 14, 2008, 10:45 AM
    Obtaining custody from mother
    I ama father of to the first child is 9 yrs old and lives in NC. Ihave no relationship with that child since 4 yrs ago. I have visitation and CS but at this point I have chosen not to have a relationship with that child. (Currently, the court is not aware of this) The second child is 15 months, by a different woman, and is in md. I am am originally from FL but currently reside in DC. I have no family here. Prior to my return to fl, I got a girlfrend pregnant with the 2nd child. We broke up before the birth. She filed for custody immediately afer the child was born. I didn't respond until after a default order was approved and I got it vacated. Mom said I was trying to prolong the case. I was unemployed before and after the child was born because I was a fulltme student living off VA benefits and a school stipend. (At the first hearing, the court was aware I was unemployed because of school and master was not very happy about that) I did not get to see the child (since brith) until court visitation in January when child was 10 months old. Temp order has me paying support and visiting child every other weekend, which I have done both. Last year I met a new girlfriend and we have been living together since. I graduated school in May and recently got a job. Up until now, girlfriend has been supporting me. I would like to get full custody of the child with mom paying child support. Mom is currently employed, has a house. Makes more than me. This is her hometown so all of her family is here. Child has been living with her snce birth. We were never married. Child is still young. I am not a criminal, no history of abuse. I want to know my chances of getting full custody based on the merits of our history.
    froggy7 Posts: 1,801, Reputation: 242
    Ultra Member

Jun 14, 2008, 10:55 AM