Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nodelac Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 8, 2008, 08:40 AM
    Cast iron toilet flange
    I have to replace the floor under the toilet because it was rotten.
    The toilet flange is cast iron (the house is over 60 years old); it is still in excellent shape.

I prefer not to remove the flange from the cast iron pipe (I am an amateur, and don’t like to mess around with these ancient hardware). If I made the new flooring under the toilet from two pieces (to go around the flange), and connect the two with a 1/4” thick steel plate (from underneath), do you think the floor will be sturdy enough to prevent an wobbly toilet.
    (There is not enough room under the 45 degree drop kick cast iron flange for a thick ply wood / lumber).

Do you have any other suggestions? Is removing the flange from the cast iron pipe easy enough to be done by an amateur? Many thanks,
    nodelac
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jun 8, 2008, 02:01 PM
    I may be misunderstanding you but your should be putting down at least a 5/8 or 3/4 plywood flooring. Are you saying that you can not slide a piece of 5/8 plywood in unedr one side of the toilet flange?

Jun 8, 2008, 04:57 PM
    Many thanks to ballengerb1 for your quick response.
    I will be using a 1" thick plywood, and will be able to slide underneath the toilet flange, however I will have to cut the plywood in 2 sections (of which each will have a half hole of approximately 4.5" diameter, because the flange outside diameter is 7" and the cast iron piping is 4.25" O.D. (the flange is still attached to the cast iron piping; and I don't like mess it up by trying to detach it from the cast iron piping).
    Cheers,
    nodelac

Jun 8, 2008, 05:15 PM