Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    christine1225 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 7, 2006, 01:03 PM
    First time doing tax! Help!
    Hi,

This is my first time do the tax, so I have some questions needed to be answered. Below is my scenario:

I am from Taiwan, and I am under F-1 (OPT) from July 05 until now. My income last year is $13000.00, and I think I am exempt from Social security and Medicare tax.
    I moved from Seattle to LA for the job, so I think I am qualifying for moving expense deduction too.

Below is the forms I think I should file:

1040NR
    Form 3903 –moving expense
    Form 843 – Claim for refund and request for abatement
    Form 8843 – Claim for refund for social security and Medicare tax.

Are these ALL the forms I should file? Is there any other I should file too?

Also, how do I know if my country has a tax treaty with US? I am from Taiwan and I only see China on the list. Can anyone tell me whether IRS consider Taiwan as part of China?

Last question, can I be exempt from Federal and CA State income tax as well?

Thanks for the help!!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 7, 2006, 09:36 PM
    As far as I know, Taiwan does not have a separate tax treaty with the U.S.

However, it may be considered part of the People's Republic of China. You may need to actually read the treaty to make that determination. If som the exemption is good for money earned up to $5,000, so you will pay some income taxes.

I do not think California honors the treaty exemption. However, a call or e-mail to the California Franchise Tax Board should answer that question.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Run time [ 1 Answers ]