Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Patriot87 Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

Mar 5, 2006, 01:58 PM
    College or Marines
    Hello. I was wondering if anyone could give me some guidance. For the longest time I've wanted to serve my country, after September 11th my will became greater. I am a senior in high school and for the better half of the year I had been fixed on enlisting into the Marines right after I graduated. After months of arguing with my parents and relatives I just gave in and am now all signed up at the University of Northern Iowa. Every day I feel resentment towards my parents. It is my life and I seriously need time away from Iowa and academics. I've told them how I fell, but they don't care. All they say is, "they will train you to kill!" I don't want you dying for those ******. They are all brainless, that is why they call them jarheads, are you willing to take a bullet for them". And so on. It angers me very much. I want to serve because of the sacrifice previous generations and our own. I also want the title of Marine. What should I do? I do want to go to college and will. Its not like I'm not, I would just be waiting 4 years until I'm out of the Corps. I know I could wait until I graduate college, but I would be an NCO, plus I don't feel I can wait that long. Or I could go through OCS but I don't want to be an officer. I want to experience it from the very bottom, and work up.

Anyway this is eating me up inside. Do you know anyone who was in my situation and what course they went?

Thank you.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 5, 2006, 02:14 PM
    Why don't you want to be an officer, the pay is much better, and they still teach you to kill. ( seriously they teach you to kill)

Your parents don't believe in the war we are in, and perhaps not in war at all. Sadly if too many people believe that way, soon we won't fight and end up being taken over by some other nation.